GCK to compete with two teams

GC Kompetition, the team of Frenchman Guerlain Chicherit, named four permanent drivers today (March 5) for the upcoming 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship. First of all there is the continuation of the 2018 season with the two Renault Mégane Mk4 Supercars. Guerlain Chicherit will be at the wheel of a Mégane and he will be joined by Swede Anton Marklund who will compete in the second Mégane. Marklund already raced for the team at the end last season during the events in the USA, Germany and South Africa. For the 2019 season he now joins the squad as a full time permanent driver.

Anton Marklund, pictured at COTA in 2018 when he debuted with GC Kompetition, has been named one of the permanent drivers for the team in the 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship. (Photo: Colin McMaster)

In the mean time also a so-called ‘GCK Academy was created by Chicherit with a vision to support young Rallycross talent and junior drivers. Frenchman and former RX2 International Series winner Cyril Raymond and Belgian Guillaume De Ridder – who was the runner up in the 2018 RX2 International Series – will form part of the GCK Academy for 2019 and will race the Renault Clio Mk4 Supercars of the team as permanent drivers in the 2019 World Championship.

Guillaume De Ridder steps up to the World championship and Supercar racing in the 2019 season. (Photo: GCK)

2019 is going to be a really big year for GCK,” said GC Kompetition founder Guerlain Chicherit. “We debuted the team in the FIA World Rallycross Championship in 2018 and have been working really hard to further develop the GCK Mégane, the first car to have been designed and built from scratch to compete in Rallycross. To now enter the Championship with 4 cars is a big step. It allows me to compete in the GCK Mégane alongside Anton who I’ve been working with closely over the last few months but also to support two super talented junior drivers in Cyril and Guillaume to develop in a World Championship driving the GCK Clio. I’m really excited to see what the season will bring.”

The 2019 season will go underway on April 5-6 at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.