Final WRX calendar approved

The calendar for the 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship has been confirmed by the

today during a meeting held at Saint Petersburg. Compared to the calendar released by series promotor IMG on October 25 (see news fvr/10/25/28) two modifications have been applied.

  • The event scheduled initially for September 28-29, 2019 at Austin, TX will not count towards the 2019 World championship – it’s planned to be Americas Rallycross Championship (ARX) only – bringing the total number of events back to ten.
  • The date for the season finale in South Africa has been changed to November 9-10, 2019.

The FIA World Motor Sport Council also approved a number of other measures designed to more effectively control costs during the two-year transition to ‘Electric Rallycross’, apart from reducing the calendar to 10 rounds, also a new limit on the number of personnel per team and a shortening of the events to two days were confirmed.

The new calendar as confirmed by the FIA WMSC looks as follows:

2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship

05.04.-06.04. – Yas Marina Circuit – Abu Dhabi – United Arab Emirates
27.04.-28.04. – Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya – Montmeló – Spain
11.05.-12.05. – Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps – Francorchamps – Belgium
25.05.-26.05. – Silverstone Circuit – Silverstone – England
15.06.-16.06. – Lånkebanen – Hell – Norway
06.07.-07.07. – Höljesbanan – Höljes – Sweden
03.08.-04.08. – Circuit Trois-Rivières – Trois-Rivières – Canada
31.08.-01.09. – Circuit de Lohéac – Lohéac – France
14.09.-15.09. – Biķernieki Sport Complex – Riga – Latvia
09.11.-10.11. – Killarney Race Circuit – Cape Town – South Africa